The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Environmental issues have become an important problem in recent times and consumer generated wastes play major role in compounding these problems. If towns and cities do impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household, some might argue that it would result in a decrease in the amount of waste produced by households. However, I believe that these limits alone cannot decrease the waste production.

First, habits are difficult to change and in this case a family producing more waste than the limit will find it difficult to decrease their waste production. Therefore, they will start storing the excess waste until the next collection which would lead to a breeding ground for mosquitoes. They might even try to dispose of the excess waste in alternate ways that may compound the issue of environmental problems. They might decide to discard the excess waste in seas which would adversely affect the marine creatures. They could even burn the garbage which would lead to the production of noxious fumes that are detrimental to health.

However, launching awareness campaigns on recycling and using greener products in addition to the imposed limits might help in decreasing the waste produced by these households. Teaching them efficient methods to decrease waste would allow them to stay within the accepted limits of garbage production imposed by towns and cities, and in turn, they would not resort to dangerous alternate methods of disposal.

Even if the limits proposed by towns and cities did manage to decrease the household waste in their respective towns and cities, it might still not solve the problem of environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste. The major contributor to the environmental problems might be the waste produced by the country side. Unlike the towns and cities, countryside do not have institutions that accept waste and dispose of them in a safe manner. They might use the aforementioned alternate methods (burning, and dumping in seas and oceans) to dispose of the waste they produce. Therefore, without a check on the waste produced by consumers in rural areas, the environmental problems caused by consumer generated waste may not be mitigated.

To sum up, strict limits on the amount of trash produced may not decrease the amount the waste produced by these households. And even if it did manage to decrease the waste produced by households in towns and cities the environmental problems related to consumer generated waste may not be lessened.