The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

The claim that local government environmental intervention via restricting volume of household garbage pickup is the best solution to consumer-generated waste problem hinges on two groups of assumptions. As a result of operation complexities as discussed below, this essay will demonstrate that the statement may be found wanting in most scenarios.

The first major gap in the statement is that the majority of consumer-generated waste that is causing the problem is produced by local households. Taken at face value, this leads to the question of why is household waste a problem. Is it improper separation of garabage types? Inefficient trash process at the waste management plant? Or household waste naturally causing severe enviornmental damage? None of these potential issues are likely to be solved by limiting trash pickup. By comparison, if the percentage of consumer-generated wastes sectors are examined, one would no doubt come to the conclusion that household waste is the least environmentally impactful contributor. Take for example the life of a pencil. When it is purchased, receipt is printed, plastic bag is given for transportation and its packaging is disposed off. In contrast, the only “household waste” that is produced would be the shavings after sharpening. It is a fraction of the total consumer-generated wastes. In other words, although household trash contribute to the consumer-generated waste environmental problem, it is unlikely to be the most significant factor and therefore limiting trash pickup would not be the best solution to the problem.

Equally important, the is based on the assumption that government intervention will directly, positively improve the situation. As will be discussed below, that is an exceedingly positive outlook that is likely wrong. All of the complexities discussed above is the result of interaction between society, institutions and human psychology. Firstly, the statistics regarding household trash is amorphous. Blanket limitation of garbage acceptance will have little to no impact. What if average household trash generation never reaches the maximum trash acceptance in the first place? Then a reduction would have little to no impact on the environment. Additionally, what if there’s a minimum volume of household trash production just as a result of daily living? If the current acceptance volume is already barely meeting the generation rate, further reduction would do nothing but cause unnecessary grievance as trash pile up at home. Finally, what if people are simply resistant to change, would reduction do anything before the current government is voted out and the next leader restate the previous rate? All in all, the claim that government intervention can help the environment is contingent on the idea that household action would change, that may not necessarily be the case.

In summary, based on analysis of the consumer-generated waste assumptions as well as household behavior, the logical conclusion is that the statement is unsubstantiated based on common sense. To truly solve the enviornmental problems caused by waste byproduct, other avenues of reduction should be examined.