We learn our most valuable lessons in life from struggling with our limitations rather than from enjoying our successes.

This essay will trace my personal quest to solve a question that has plagued me for many years and in doing so illustrate that the most valuable lessons in life are learned by pushing against limitations rather than wallowing in success stories. Specifically, the mechanism of learning, variety of lessons and depth of learning are explored in relationship to the topic.

In the very beginning, I had a question as an science focused child with below average emotional intelligence: why do some adults repeat the same story to you ad nauseum? I could not figure it out for years even as I moved through middle school, high school and much of university. Nevertheless, aong the way, social, psychological and philosophical theories and knowledge are voraciously devoured to try and help me make sense of the phenomenon. In contrast, when I successed in various science projects such as homemade crystal radio or spaghetti bridge, the happiness of success rarely incited further pursue of knowledge. In other words, the mechanism of learning life lessons come from our attempt to solve problems and indulgence in success does not encourage that.

Furthermore, valuable life lessons are gained in difficulty because it is often a symptom that we have entered uncharted territory. Consequently, it allows for the learning of new and diverse lessons rather than fortifying already strong subject areas. In my case, trying to answer the question of why people keep telling the same story brought me out of the physical sciences and into the bewildering world of sociology and human psychology. Along the way, I learned how other cultures influence what others say and don’t say or why one can be fixated on certain topic whether that be because of childhood events, unfulfilled dreams or emotional trauma. By comparison, enjoying easy success in my comfort zone of physics serves only to minimally improve specific knowledge and never brought the fundamental revelation and learning of a brand new field.

Most importantly, the deepest lessons are learned by pushing through difficulty rather than re-living success. Although some arguments can be made for the case that pleasant memories might encourage more recall and thus help to deepen the lessons, more often than not, we are enjoying the feeling of accomplishment rather than analyzing the causes of success. In contrast, it took me many years to finally assemble the puzzle and realize that often time, when people repeat a well-worn story, it is not for your sake but for their own, whether that be one of their accomplishments, biggest regret or interesting experiences. By approaching it from a strictly scientific and logical deduction perspective, it made no sense. But by standing in the other person’s shoe and incorporating all the knowledge of the diverse fields that I’ve pick up over the years, it made perfect sense.

In summary, smooth successes does not allow for learning the best life lessons in comparison to difficult problems. The mechanism for learning is different, variety is lacking and does not encourage thorough appreciation of the lessons.