The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Over the past several decades, problems pertaining to the environment have been on a precipitous rise. The prompt claims a seemingly plausible remedy that might mitigate some of the environmental ills. However, I mostly disagree with the claim that placing limits on the amount of consumer-generated trash that can be collected from households could ameliorate the current daunting situation. But I do concede that it might give us some minuscule benefits.

First of all, the claim is bound to yield only negligible improvements because the assumption that the majority of environmental ills are due to household waste is not sound. The unprecedented climate change we are witnessing--sporadic spells of rain, sea level rising, melting of polar ice caps, extreme temperatures-- are largely due to greenhouse gases that trap the solar heat, preventing it from escaping the earth's atmosphere. And one of the biggest contributors of these greenhouse gases are vehicular and industry emissions. Also responsible is the rapid reduction of our forest cover which helps alleviate some of the ill-effects of those greenhouse gases. Putting limits on trash that will be collected from households would do only little. Also, it's unauspicious because the trash collected form us is safely disposed by the municipal authorities anyway.

Secondly, if the remedy claimed by this prompt is implemented, many people would resort to non-standard means of disposing off the waste. And this,without a modicum of doubt, is going to be detrimental to our environment. For example, what would happen if people living nearby a water body, say a lake, start dumping the trash near the shores or in the water itself. This is only going to more pollute the already polluted water due to untreated disposal of industrial waste. Rather than forcing people to resort to these unscientific means of disposal of garbage, it's better that pertinent governing bodies collect it from houses and dispose it with standard practices.

However, I do agree that it might yield some benefits, though mostly short-term, by discouraging the people from generating more trash. But this is only possible when strict checks are implemented regarding the unlawful disposal of the remaining trash that's not accepted by the germane authorities. But, like I mentioned earlier, this would not help a lot with the prevailing environmental problems as it's not a major source of problems.

In conclusion, I would like to say that this well-intentioned claim is not a plausible remedy capable of providing considerable benefits. We should rather focus on the more prominent causes--industry and vehicular emission, deforestation--to mitigate the environmental ills.