Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technological innovations have revolutionized almost every aspect of our lives, including teaching and education. The prompt concludes that innovations--computers, the Internet, multimedia--more often than not distract the students from "real" learning.

However, I mostly disagree with the conclusion because of two reasons, which I will elucidate below. Nevertheless, I do concede that there are certain scenarios where these inventions might distract the students a bit if not cautiously used.

First of all, these innovations have made it possible to deliver access to world-class education even in scenarios where traditional classroom-based lecture delivery might not even be feasible. For example, consider the ongoing coronavirus pandemic which has led to a near worldwide closure of universities and schools due to the fear of infection among students and teachers alike. These schools and universities, thanks to the technological advancements our society has witnessed, have moved to a completely online mechanism of lectures' delivery, thereby making access to classes even in these trying times possible. Imagine what the scenario would have been if it were not for these inventions. Almost a complete year of students would have been wasted to say the least.

Moreover, no longer are the universities enrolled with only traditional students--students in 20s. In today's world, many people who are in their mid-careers and parents after having started families, want to resume their education. However, due to various constraints, they just can't enroll in a university. Again, thanks to the technology, universities have started offering online degrees, with lectures available on demand which these non-traditional students, and even traditional students, can watch anytime and thus pursue their dreams of higher education. Clearly, technology has positively affected the lives of these prospective students.

However, I do concede that we must exercise some caution so as not to get distracted by the flood of impertinent content, namely the entertainment. Along with the access to world-class lectures from pioneer instructors, the Internet is rife with entertainment content and stuff which if consumed unabated can hinder the learning of individuals.

In conclusion, I would like to say that recent technological advancements have positively affected the lives of both students and teachers. They play a pivotal role in our current generation and are propitious to the interests of our society.