Technology has made children less creative than they were in past

Some people argue that technology has made children less creative now than they were in the past because those people are under the impression that children nowadays only squander time on social media and content applications. However, I disagree with this stance for two reasons, which I will elucidate below.

First of all, I believe technological advancements have made children more and more creative because of the plethora of utility, creativity tools and software that have made it possible for the children to express themselves in the most creative ways that ever was possible in the past. For example, software like adobe photoshop lite is a great platform that provides children with easy to use and clutter-free interface to build their dream worlds—consisting of anything from fairies to dragons. Thanks to these tools and software packages that provide numerous and wide-ranging color options, children don’t have to just work with basic 10-12 sketch pens on poor quality paper. Thus, I believe these software have revolutionized the way children express their imaginations, making the process both better and simpler.

Secondly, I assert that technology, especially the internet, has provided children a platform to showcase their masterpieces to not only their parents and friends, but to the entire globe which promote and motivate other children to unleash their full creative potential. The story of my younger cousin, who’s just 6 years only, is a compelling example of what I really mean. My cousin saw a youtube video where a child sang a self-written poem consisting of very unique word choices and sentence structure. That video had already received more than 2 million views and nearly half-million likes when my cousin saw that video. Inspired by the success and creative style of that child, my cousin also started composing his own poems. And I must admit that the level of creativity that my cousin has shown after watching that compelling video even put many adults, including me, to shame.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that technology has played a very auspicious role in promoting and encouraging creativity among children of all ages. The two aforementioned reasons merely illustrated a small percentage of numerous roles that technological advancements are playing in the lives of children in order to bolster creativity.