Technology has made children less creative than they were in past.

It is irrefutable that technology is of great benefit to modern life, but whether it has negative impact on children is a subject to debate. Some people believe that technology has hindered children’s creativity. Personally, I agree with this statement for two main reasons, which I will elaborate on in the following essay.

First and foremost, nowadays children spend a lot of time passively watching television or playing video games. Consequently, they have less time to play mind games, practice mathematics, or study science, which are the ways to improve creativity. For instance, when I was a child, mathematics games were my favorite entertainment. Playing these challenging games helps me to do better in math at school in comparison with other students. Obviously, these games played a major role in enhancing my problem-solving skill and creative thinking in my childhood.

Furthermore, computers keep kids in the home and away from other kids; therefor, they miss the opportunity to improve communication skills in face to face situations and this in turn hinders the development of creativity. Recent researches have indicated that there is correlation between children’s creativity and the time spent on playing outdoors. That is because children use their imagination while creating new games to play together. Besides, using fantasy to invent adventurous games makes them more creative, self-determined and self-conscious. Today, how can children learn these skills when playing ready-made video games?

In conclusion, I strongly believe that advanced technology has negatively affected children’s creativity over time because it takes away their chance to play mind games, think and analyze, and create their own imaginary world.