Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Sometimes it is better not to tell the truth. Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Maintaining an intimate relationship can be very difficult in today’s world, and there are many aspects of our interactions with others that we need to worry about. From my perspective, there are times that it is better to not tell the truth to others. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

First of all, telling small lies sometimes motivates people. Humans are so competitive and they want to be the best at whatever task they are completing. Whether they are involved in an athletic event or taking a test at school, they will be more motivated if they think it is possible that they achieve impressive results. In these situations, lying about their potential can encourage them to perform well. My brother is a compelling example of this. Last year, he signed up for a marathon in our city. Although I knew that it would be an arduous task for him to even endure to the end, I lied and said to him that he had a great chance to win. This gave him a lot of confidence and he did his best at the marathon.

Secondly, trivial lies told to protect someone’s feeling can be beneficial to sustain good relationships. For instance, last week a colleague asked my opinion on her new hair style. Although I though it looks terrible, I told her she looked stylish. If I had told the truth, I would have hurt her feelings and even jeopardized our friendship. So white lies can benefit social interactions.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that in some situations it is better to not be completely honest and tell the truth. This is because small lies can motivate people to try harder; also, white lies help us avoid awkward social situations and not damage our relationships.