Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Sometimes it is better not to tell the truth. Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Maintaining relationships and having a good personality is one of the most difficult tasks in our era and there are many aspects in our life we have to evaluate in order to be a successful person. Telling the truth is one of the most significant aspects of every individual’s life that should not be ignored. While some people believe that it is necessary to tell truth in our relationships, others hold the view that it is better not to tell all truths. Personally, I am of the view of the latter opinion and I believe people should tell tiny lies in some situations. In what follows, I will explore my reasons.

To begin with, a little bit lying not only helps individual be more incentive, but also it makes them to believe that someone backs them up them in every occasions, whether they are able to make it or fail that situation. An example of mine can illustrate this fact. My husband signed up for a Marathon last year. Although I knew that he couldn’t finish the race, I kept talking to him that he was so powerful enough to end this up and he would be in ten tops. This gave him a motivation to participate the race with more confidence both during and before the competition. However, he didn’t pass the last line; he recognized that I will be supporting him in every occasions.

The next equally important reason is that by not telling truth, one can avoid anxiety and make others feel better about them. Telling harmful truths will hurt some people both mentally and emotionally. If people, instead of telling real things that may make others upset, tell a little bit lies, it will not cause others to lose their self-confidence. For example, last week, my colleague asked me about how well her hairstyle was. Being honest, I told that it wasn’t right and the color was awful. However, she didn’t get upset at the moment, I felt that she became so embarrassed and next day, she changed her hairstyle. I realized how telling lie could have given her a sense of self-confidence. Had I not told my real opinion, she could have been happier and more positive about herself next day.

To put it briefly, taking into account all aforementioned reasons and examples, I think it is more beneficial to tell lies and avoid being honest. I do believe that because sometimes telling a little lie would motivate people and give them a sense of supporting and caring and also, we can avoid hurting others’ feeling and emotions.