Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct. Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, because there is no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. Further, archaeologists have discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been discarded, but they found no such areas containing the bones of large mammals, so the humans cannot have hunted the mammals. Therefore, some climate change or other environmental factor must have caused the species' extinctions.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author concludes that humans weren't a factor that led to the extinction of large mammals. The author reaches to this conclusion based on several pieces of evidence, including an investigation by archaeologists. Although the author's contention might ultimately prove valid, as it stands now, it relies on three unwarranted assumptions that severely undermine its persuasiveness and credibility.

First of all, the author assumes that the absence of evidence can mean that there was no significant contact of humans with large mammals, which might not be the case. For example, an unknown forest fire could have destroyed the pertinent evidence. Furthermore, maybe not enough archaeologists attempted to uncover the evidence behind the mysteries of large mammals' extinction in the Kaliko Islands. If either of the above-mentioned scenarios is true, then the author's contention that humans do not have anything to do with the species' extinction due to absence of evidence is considerably impaired.

Secondly, the author assumes that no indirect human intervention can trigger the extinction process of large mammals. However, it may not be true. What if humans hunted the small mammals which were the food of large mammals? Also, what if human activities led to dramatic changes in climate that ultimately led to the extinction of the species in question? If answer to any of the aforementioned questions is true, then the credibility of author's argument is appreciably hampered.

Finally, the author assumes that "numerous" sites that archaeologists explored is significant, which may not be true. The archaeologists may have explored only 2 sites in their studies, which is not statistically significant to reach to any form of conclusion. Moreover, the sites chosen by these archaeologists may have selection bias, and thus not representative of the entire Kaliko Island's demographics. What if they only surveyed sites near the coastal areas of the island. Thus, if any of these cases mentioned above is in fact true, then the argument's persuasiveness is significantly undermined.

In conclusion, I would like to say that the author's contention rests on abovementioned three unwarranted assumptions which drastically diminish its credibility and persuasiveness.