The best way to solve problems caused by consumer generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they accept from each household

Environmental conservation is the need of the hour for sustenance of mankind on earth. Recently, the awareness on cleanliness, hygiene and ecological preservation has been widespread that almost there will be none who does not know at least the basics. The writer’s argument that imposing restrictions on waste collection from households is the best way to address the environmental problems has to be disagreed in one way or the other.

It is known to everyone that the lifestyle of people has changed in due course of time so as the waste we generate. The difference between non degradable waste and degradable waste has grown manifold and the overall waste generated per household will be many more times greater than what it was ten years back. So this is the crucial time to encourage and motivate the collection of waste from each and every home.

If done otherwise, the result would not be what is expected by the writer. Rather than improvement in environment scales, it would cause detrimental effects. The amount of waste coming out of each home is not remaining constant or in worst case increasing, whereas implementing a restriction in collecting the waste will push people to the frenzy of dumping their waste wherever they can. Hoping that having a fence on waste collection will reduce the waste generation would be an erroneous assumption as they do not have even a slightest possibility of occurence

Moreover, the scheme of collecting the domestic wastes has not reached each and every corner of the nation. If the writer’s argument is correct, then the environmental indexes in those areas should be high. But it is not so. Those are the areas where people have the poorest environment and surrounding to live. All kinds of wastes got rid of randomly have affected them in the most malign way leading to diseases and many unknown side effects.

The better action that can be done for the improvement of environment would be one where people are motivated to get rid of their garbage only through the collectors and if possible segregating the waste at the consumer level itself. Allocating more budget, hiring more people and erecting more waste treatment plants would be the most suitable path to accomplish what the writer truly wants. Choosing the given method is trying to stop the rain as the city gets flooded.