the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

If you want something to grow, focus on it. Going by this statement we can assume that to teach someone a lesson, we must ignore their negative actions and focus on the positive ones only by praising them. However, it would be false to assume complete authencity of this statement without considering the possible consequences of following such a rule.

Even though I believe in focusing on the positive actions of a person rather than the negative ones, I do not agee with completely ignoring the negative ones as it might not always lead to the desired consequence of teaching one something. This could be for a variety of reasons and circumstances. Firstly, the person might not be aware of the fault or the mistake he or she has committed. Not making him aware of what you percieve as wrong, only makes him more likely to committing it again in future. Also, there can be circumstances where two people don't agree on what's right and what's not. Hence, only if you make the other person aware of your point of view, can he say if he agrees or disagrees with it. It is important to have such a discussion to teach someone a value and not make him repeat a negative action in future. Until and unless he is convinced about what he did was wrong, he is likely to repeat it in future without a drop of guilt.

In other situations, only praising one and not pointing out his mistakes might lead to one falsely believing in his own superiority, it might lead to arrogance which is definitely not a desirable consequence especially if the person you are dealing with is a child as the characterstics/beliefs formed in childhood stay with one for the rest of their lives.

Overall, even though the focus should be on praising one's positive actions, one must also be made aware of his mistakes in a constructive way. Praises should be given in front of a thousand people, however, crtiticizm should be given privately and in a compassionate way in which the person feels most receptive to a constructive feedback.