A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

At first glance, more uniformity in education thorughout a nation might seem like the ideal situation since all individuals would be at par with each other (at least in terms of exposure) till the time they get into a college. However, on a deeper examination, this scenario seems not only a non-pragamatic one, but also a one that might hamper a nation's intellectual diversity. Hence, the recommendation might be effective.

To bolster the claim above, let us consider a scenario in which a nation has implemented the rule where all students need to study the same curriculum before they enter into college. This is likely to result in all students being competent in one or few specific areas by the time they enter college. Also, since students are likely to pick a course in college which is best suited to their interests and competencies, and since a person's interests and competencies are directly dependent upon the exposure that he or she receives, it is likely that even at the college level, all the nation's intellect would be accummulated in a few specific areas- the ones that were included as a part of the school curriculum. This is clearly not an ideal scenario as one would expect the nation to be competent in all domains to encourage intellectual growth and diversity.

One might argue that merely having the same curriculum across nation might not lead to the lack of intellectual growth and diversity in a nation as explained above since education is a really subjective matter. Same content can be interpreted in many different ways and highly dependent upon a person's interest as well as the way it is taught. Moreover, students studying the same curriculum in school, can exit into different fields by the time they enter college and hence the above claim stands invalidated. However, my argument to counter this would be that even though the same content can be interpreted and taught in different ways, the range of these interpretations and this intellectual diversity would still be confined when juxtaposed to not confining the curriculum at all.

Moreover, I feel it will also against individual interests to restrict them at school level as that is the time to explore and develop your interests. Not having a choice between differently designed curriculums is serious threat to over all personality development recommendation is also an impractical one since different parts of the nation might not have access to similar resources.

Having said that, I think restricting and homogenizing the curriculum at school level could lead to serious hampering of intellectual diversity in a nation and hence would not support the recommendation.