Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Technology has no doubt had an immutable impact on our lives. The goal of technology is clearly to enable - to make things that were previously impossible or difficult , possible or relatively easier. One may argue that technology has undoubtly done so! However this claim is worth closer examining.

Technology enchance our ability and productivity, allowing us to do far more now, in the same time than we could before. This is particularly pertinent in our professional lives. We are no longer hamstrung by several factors that would prevously be impossible to overcome - long distances, extreme weather and non-availability of information. These constraints are now trivial. However this new found freedom has now put us in a relentless pursuit of perfection and productivity - attend just one more meeting, finish up just one more piece of code today - that we ignore the parts of life that are fundamental to us. Dinner with the family, a soccer game with friends have little claim to our time in this fast paced world.

Technology has certainly had an impact on relationships, while it is now possible to talk to our dear ones despite being a thousand miles away, it is equally possible to eschew their company for a set of virtual friends on the internet that are a thousand miles away. "Blue ticks" - introduced as a recent update on whatsapp, the worlds most popular internet messaging platform has only made things more complex. This update makes it possible to see the exact time a message sent to a contact was "read". This completely ignores the possibility that despite viewing a recieved message, it may not be read! It also puts pressure on the recepient of the message - to respond immediately, as the sender may take umbrage to the fact the his message was read but not responded to.

This may further complicate things in a professional setup, where someone is unable to immediately respond to his boss' message Examining the above cases makes it clear that the question of whether technology makes our lives simpler needs itself a complex one. On the surafce it certainly seems so. However one must account for the implications of the new technologies, as this may bring to the fore a whole host of new questions and complexities.