The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

I agree with the cooperation based approach.

Youth is a time in person's life where he learns lessons that he carries with him as a bundle of experience for the rest of his life. It is also the most crucial time for character building and as such, lessons learnt in one's youth are likely to have a direct and long-lasting impact on his behavioural pattern throughout his lifetime. Consequently, approach to teach leadership lessons in a person's youth can't be marginalized.

To categorize widely, there are two main approaches in which you can teach leadership lessons to a person- one is through instilling the feeling of competition, that is, the one where you tell him that all people are his competitors and one of the either has to lose in order for the other one to win in life, while the other one teaches leadership on a compassionate level, the one that teahces to respect everyone's needs in a society and achieve things as well as solve problems on a macro level rather than looking at problems merely from a self centred view.

One has to understand the interdependence of life and it's environment to appreciate the compassion-based aproach to leadership lessons. A person's happiness in the long run is greatly determined by the happiness of people living in his environment. To explain this point in greater detail, let's consider an example of a person who is a leader in his apartment building and hence has authority to decide if the apartment should have a separate play area designated for kids. The leader having no kids of his own and one who have been trained through the competition based aprroach looks at this as "other" people's issue or problem and hence takes a self centred call and denies the request of other society members who have kids. This helps him in the short run as there's no unnecessary money or time and energy spent on the construction of the play area. However, in the long run, there being no park for kids in the surroundings, parents start to bring kids to the common are for playing activities causing a lot of noise and incovenience to other members of the society and hence there is a lot of discord and disharmony in the apartment on a daily basis which makes the leader unhappy too in the long run. A compassionate leader on the other hand would have realised this earlier and hence would have come up with a solution keeping in mind needs of everyone.