'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The manager's conclusion that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to it's former level would lead to greater viewership of their late-night news program is based on some consequential assumptions. As such, more factual evidence is needed to check the validity of such a conclusion. Let's evaluate some of these evidences in greater detail.

Firstly, the manager mentioned that over the past year, they received a lot of complaints with respect to their station's coverage of weather and local news. He fails to understand or mention that exactly what are these complaints.Since, we do not know how much time deduction has happened from what was assigned to weather and local news earlier, these complaints could be completely contrary to the manger's assumption that the complaints have to do with the program devoting less time on local and weather news. An evidence which shows the content of these complaints has to do with the station still spending a lot of time on local and weather news, even though relatively lesser than before, would seriously undermine the validity of manager's conclusion.

Secondly, these complaints could be about the station not reporting the weather and local news correctly. People may be expressing their concerns with respect to the authenticity of information that their news is showing which will not be resolved by devoting more time to local and weather news. In fact, in such a scenario, devoting more time to local and weather news and reducing time for national news would only lead to a reduced viewership of their program since viewers would lose a part of the program that they considered more reliable and informative.

Thirdly, the manager expresses his concern about the advertisers canceling their contracts. There is no evidence to support that these contracts were canceled as a result of lessened time devotion to local news. It could be because they were finding advertising on their channel more expensive during the last year due to other circumstances In such a situation too, devoting more time to local news might not help, rather reducing the advertising costs would. However, evidence suggesting that the advertisers specifically asked for more time allocation to local news and not getting it led them to cancel their arguments with the station will on the other hand bolster manger's claim.

Finally, dedicating more time to local and weather news is no guarantee that it will lead to greater viewership of their late-night show. An evidence suggesting that a greater percentage of viewers belong to the national news category would undermine manger's assumption about attracting greater viewership.

Hence, without the evidences explained above the conclusion stands unsubstantiated.