Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Even though there are major risks involved in manned space flights, the trade off would be the human skill, knowledge and expertise. No matter how sophisticated or very well designed a machine - in this case an unmanned space satellite is, it can not respond in situations which are not predicted in advance. In such situations, human skill and the ability to respond spontaneously in unexpected situations come into play.

Universe being so massive is also very treacherous and unpredictable. Even though the research and advancement in the field of space and aeronautics is commendable, there are thousands of things which are still unknown and mysterious to astronauts and scientists. This is why these manned and unmanned probes are launched into space year after year to resolve such mysteries. Now, it is highly likely that a satellite, manned or unmanned when in space encounters such a phenomena which was unknown or wasn't accounted for. In such situations a manned space flight has much more chances of survival than an unmanned one due to human ability of thinking on their own and taking spontaneous decisions. One cannot restrict the imagination of a human mind while that of man made device is limited to the predictable scenarios and situations. The costs involved in sending unmanned probes and satellites into space are perhaps relatively lower as compared against manned space flights, however, are still massive. In situations of unexpected scenarios, the money spent on an unmanned spacecraft is expected to be a complete loss, however, still has survival chances in case of a manned one.

Moreover, there are things that can only be experienced with the help of human senses - for example the feel of the crust. The experiences of human senses can be closely, however, not completely be replicated by a man made device. Due to this manned spacecrafts have their own significance. However, due to lesser and risks and costs involved in launching a unmanned spacecraft that a manned one, it can be agreed that percentage of former must be higher. Manned spacecraft should be launched only in situations which are highly unpredictable and human intervention would be required. Although, due to the risk of human life associated, precatuions must be taken