The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead

Possessing effective leadership skills has always been considered a very important personality trait for someone who is inclined to make a change by influencing people. With the increment in number of economic, politcal, social, religious and other organisations around us, need for more and more leaders has arrived. Although anyone can be "so to say" a leader, however, only few can be effective leaders. Only few can inspire and motivate the crowd to achieved the desired outcome. One has to investigate what distinguishes effective leaders from ineffective ones to support or refute the given claim.

There are some obvious traits of effective leaders, such as assertiveness, decisiveness, organised and structured approach. Other qualities of effective leaders can differ in different situations. For example, Mahatama Gandhi was a leader full of compassion. His drive for leadership came from the pain that he felt towards the victims of colonialism. On the other hand, Hitler was a leader far from compassion. He did not care too much about about people's emotions and was ruthless in his orders. One might think that getting a feedback might be possible in the former scenario where the leader is actually concerned with people's needs and desires, however, it is highly unlikely in the latter as some leaders tend to have first and final say in decisions.

Now, to evaluate the above scenarios objectively, a leader is in direct contact with the people he leads and in minimal contact with the people or things which are the end result of the movement the leader is leading. The people who leads are actually in direct contact with the means to achieve the final outcome. Thus, these people act as intermediaries between the leader and result(s) he is trying to achieve, in which case getting a feedback from these people becomes not just helpful but absolutely mandatory to result in an effective leadership. For example, a school principal who leads the school teachers might instruct them to keep classes for longer stretches of time. However, if the students are unable to keep their attention for such long time spans, his plan might be ineffective of enabling the students grasp more, in which case it is the teachers who's feedback matters.

A leader might make decisions unaware of the ground realities, in which case his orders even though effective might not produce desired results. However, having said that, a leader has to be cautious of the fact that it's a human organisation that he is dealing with and as such the information that reaches him could be personally biased or interpreted. Thus, he or she must use his judgement to make decisions that are aligned with the goals of the group or organisation.