The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

It is certainly true that to encourage positive behaviors is to make use of student’s positive energy and encourage actions that you would like to see repeated. On the other hand, as the recommendation presents, ignoring each and every negative action may prove to be counterproductive as it might exacerbate underlying behavioral problems and worsen the situation. Thus, I partially agree with the above recommendation as it holds true only within a certain context.

Undeniably, to fortify desirable actions it is imperative to praise those actions to reinforce such behaviors. Such as during a class when a student asks compelling questions on behalf of the class with proper etiquette, praising that action openly will be quite rewarding to both as a teacher who establishes proper behavior and the to the student. Since every human being desires acknowledgment and recognition, when people in authority provide positive feedback of them doing something well, they are bound to repeat those actions to elicit a similar response again.

Likewise, if a student is being a nuisance in classroom trying to attract the teachers attention, it is generally best to pay no heed to such behaviors so as to deter them from repeating it again. After all, if the student is not getting the desired response for such negative behaviors, he or she is more likely to attempt the positive action that prompted such attention. But it is important to note that such tactic would only work when the undesired consequence, in this case a class getting disturbed, is not that significant. For cases like violent outbreak or bullying, ignoring the scene would likely worsen the situation and is, thus, futile.

To expand on this point, take an example of bullying where if it goes unnoticed, the victim might develop severe personal issues and there would be no one to deter the bully to impede him from repeating the offense. Such actions should be severely reprimanded to set an example for what is unacceptable conduct. Ignoring this kind of attitude is also quite absurd and negligent. It is for these reasons that I can’t get behind the author’s idea of ignoring all such negative actions.

I, however, do support the idea that positive actions should be praised and encouraged. But ignoring the negative ones does not hold true due to the sheer possibility of those doings. Perhaps it would be better to phrase the statement as “the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones which have an insignificant consequence or is not detrimental to other beings”.

To conclude, acknowledging the desirable actions is constructive but not all negative ones should be ignored as it is easy to see the potential error in following it to the extreme.