The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Throughout the history it is often that a certain group of people makes decision for the whole society. The system has been in place for the benevolence of the whole community. It might happen that few decisions may affect some people poorly or may seem counterintuitive at first. But the intention should be to always benefit the majority the community in the long run. The statement asserts that the society should question those in authority for their own well-being but I must argue that it only holds true in certain situation. For example, if students in preliminary schools or employees in factories start to question the principal or the supervisor it will become disruptive to the normal workflow. On the other hand, in scientific communities, questioning the laid down principles may bring forth new or different insight on the subject which can aid in advancing technologies to improve the productivity of the society.

Teenagers are often prone to capricious behavior and lashing out at their parents and teachers as they deal with the changes in their own self. They often get into conflict as they struggle for their own independence and freedom. The supervision and constraints are often necessary for their own well-being. Without respecting the authority of their parents and instructor, they might develop behavioral problems that might affect them negatively in the long run. To illustrate, at adolescent age, they are more likely to experiment with drugs and sex and often fall prey to bad practices. They might become drug addicted or may contact sexually transmitted diseases which may lead to serious personal and social problems. Meanwhile, in terms of academics, it is often unwise to challenge the relatively well-established facts and theories in textbooks. Challenging teachers in academic matters will only deter the productivity of the student itself.

However, in scientific community it is always welcome to question the laid down principles or suggest a different approach. One of the distinguishing identity of a scientific group is that they are always open to the possibility that their established theories may be inaccurate or plain wrong. Throughout their peer-reviewed research, the scientists have to answer any counter argument against their own theories with logical answers that satisfy their findings. Other researchers will challenge the theory if they get inconsistent results by replicating the paper. This whole process of questioning propositions and principles are necessary to ensure validity of knowledge and inflow of new ideas in field of ever growing science and technology which ultimately benefits the society.

In conclusion, as it is known that well-being of society is closely related to education, business and research, and therefore, challenging the authority in education and business is ill-advised. However, it is significant to question the established principles in research to advance the development of science and technology.