The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Teaching is considered as one of the most crucial activities for an individual and thus one's actions define the type of teaching he has been through. The statement given states that praising positive actions over negative actions is the best way to teach, but that might not be a fruitfull way to teach someone.

Teaching techniques vary from individual to individual and thus there need not be the best way around it. Considering the statement, praising one's positive actions is a good way to introduce someone to what is good and might in turn help the person to grow and perpetually spread the cheerful vibes to others. In this way one knows what actions he has to perform and in what manner to get appreciation or rewards. This can be related to the scenario when a parent tells his kid that santa will bring you presents if you are good to others.

But there is a downside to this path of training. If he or she, say does not know what egregious actions are and what those actions might result into then the entire point of teaching is futile. Ignoring one's negative actions results in them performing such actions more and more without anyone stoping them and teaching them the correct way. Such a teaching might turn one's career into a total disaster where the person does not know if he is performing good or bad actions. Parents should also tell their kids what santa might do if they do not obey.

The best way to teach a machine is making the use of machine learning. Where an agent is placed in an environment where it needs to solve a particular task. The agent itself learns through reinforcement learning where it is rewarded on a step closer and penalized on a step away from the solution. This approach results in teaching the agent to behoove in the manner that is best for it.

The best way to teach, thus, should be where praising positive actions accompanies punishment on negative ones. This helps one to recognize what is good or bad for oneself. Such a teaching can be a true teaching where one learns a true lesson and makes something out of learning.