It is more important to keep old friends than it is to make new friends.

Some people might posit that it is better to make new friends than stick to your old ones as you get to expand your social circle. However, I stongly disagree and feel that it is important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. I am going to explain this by giving three examples.

To begin with, it is better to maintain relationship with old friends because you have memories with them. Remembering those memories of spending fun and happy time together always gives a good feeling. For instance, a friend of mine who I met in my primary school, Bob, is still friends with me. In fact, he is one of my very good friends. Often we spend time together and talk about the fun activites that we used to together while attending the school. However, if I were to talk about these childhood memories with a new friend then he may or may not be receptive. He may not feel the experience that I had as a kid. Thus, it is good to have a friend who was there with you enjoying that time.

Secondly, if you have an old friend, you most probably know each other well enough. You already know what kind of things the other person likes or dislikes. To illustrate, the friends I made in graduate school don't know enough about me than my high school friends know. This is because I have spent more time with my high school friends and old friends are important to me. Now, someone was to ask one of my new friends about my favourite video game, they might be clueless. This explains that it is good to have healthy relationship with your old friends.

Thirdly, one always feels more comfortable talking with a old friend than with a new one. You often tend to trust your old friend and there is no awkwardness. You can be more open to your old friends. In case of new friends, you need time to trust each other. It takes time to become comfortable and share personal experiences. There is always some sort of reluctant feeling with new friends as you have known each other for only a short time.

To conclude, few people can argue that its important to make new friends as you get to have a bigger social circle. Nevertheless, I think that it is equally important to maintain a good and healthy relationship with old friends as you have already had that friendship and bond of trust for a long time which only gets better over time.