"Over the past year, our late night news program, "

One might agree with the reasons provided in the memorandum from the business manager of the televsion station regarding losing viewers and business advertisement contracts over past year, but there might be an alternate reason for this problem which requires manager to take a look at the problem from a different angle perhaps.

The business manager of the television station mentions that the complaints received during past one year's period are regarding weather and local news, but does not provide enough information to come to the conclusion that is viewers requirement. Viewers might want the station to change their late-night news program timings or a maybe require a different host for their program. Such information regarding the cause of the complaints might be neglected by the manager which leads to different memorandum.

There has been a significant loss due to cancellation of business advertisement contracts, but there is no corrrelation between the type of news telecasted and the advertisement. The local businesses might not be satisfied with the type of service provided by the television station or might have other tenders with better advantages over the late-night news program. Also, there might the issue about the timings at which the business advertisement is shown on the television, which is not considered by the manager.

Television station manager proposes to attract more viewers to the program and avoid losing advertising revenues by devoting more time to weather and local news which might fail due to ignorance of other possible cause of issues at the station. There is no guaranteed research which brings the solution to these problems and instead might make the condition worse.

The manager of the television station can look for correlation in timings and programs with most viewers and maybe pay attention to their complaints along with some changes in late-night program timings and time devoted to weather and local news.Taking a feedback from local businesses for their advertisements and come up with innovative solution might also help to gain back the customer satisfaction in this case.