An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Some people think that an ailing patient should have access to his/her doctor's record of treating similar afflicted patients. They argue that it helps them determine how competent the doctor is while dealing with that medical condition. However, I believe that this ease of access may give rise to a couple of problems and should be avoided. I will provide three reasons in the following to support my view.

First of all, this idea can be disrespectful. Determining how competent a doctor is with a specific medical condition by checking his medical record seems like being skeptical about the skills and knowledge the doctor has gained over years of study and practice. It shows that patients do not trust the doctor with a particular medical condition. This is analogical to a parent asking record of a teacher in school to see if the students guided by her score good grades or not. Thus, checking doctor's record should be avoided and mutual trust should be established.

Second of all, what are the odds of getting an ace everytime playing cards? It is possible that the doctor's record of treating the disease of patients is very good but it might change. Every patient is different and each one's disease might have to be dealt with in a bit different manner. If something works out well for others that does not mean it is going to work out well for you. Also, if a new doctor is not given a chance or an opportunity to treat a medical condition then there are chances he may never be able to treat someone due to the record. Thus, doctor's treatment might or might not work everytime and should not be trusted based on the record.

Third of all, the record of doctor's treatment can be used for malicious practices. Competitor's may try accessing the doctor's record and may even try contacting the patients the doctor has treated in the past. To avoid such practices, no personel records of treatment should be publicised. Another way of using this information for bad purpose is where any patient is unfortunately not treated with a medical condition might drag doctor to legal court and sue him or her for bias against him or her. There is a need for security if such information are publicy available.

To sum up, people may argue that it is in best interest of ailing patients to have access of the doctor's record to check his or her experience in the domain. However, I disagree and think it should not be publicised.