"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures."

The article written by Dr. Karp contains various flaws or gaps that need to be filled in order to come to a conclusion regarding the culture of the people on the island of Tertia. While, Dr. Karp might be true regarding their research but have not provided enough evidences which undermines their whole study based on the child-rearing culture of the island.

First, there is a gap of twenty years between the research conducted by Dr. Field and the current research going on by Dr. Karp and their graduate students. There might have been children rearing by an entire village twenty years ago which changed recently as cultures evolve and change. A possibility also exists where the children of village might not have been completely honest with strangers i.e. Dr. Karp's students interviewing them. This does not prove that observation-centered approach to studying cultures is wrong or does not provide results.

Second, there is no corelation between who were the children of village reared by and who do the children talk about when asked in interview. It totally depends on the type of questions asked to the children which might not have been correct standard for comparison between Dr. Field's and Dr. Karp's study. Also, there are no statistical values mentioned as to what ratio of children from village were interviewed or which age range did the interviewed children lie in.

Third, graduate students might not be the correct entities for carrying out this research as students usually slack of their work and are not dilligent. Stating that interview-centered approach is better than observation-centered on the basis of someone else's work can be a bit risky step for Dr. Karp. Another thing to note here is that there is no guarantee that the method proposed by Dr. Karp will be more accurate and show the desired results.

Finally, Dr. Karp mentions that interview-centered methods used by their team of students are based in the village of Tertia which in turn does not prove that other island cultures might have the same children-rearing approach as the people of Tertia have. These questions need to be answered while filling the gaps and a proper base for comparison of studies of two anthropologists should be considered to come a conclusion.