The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures."

In the given arguement, Dr. Karp claims that an observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid, whereas, interview-centered method is more accurate. While evaluating this claim, one needs to look into the following three aspects to validate Dr. Karp arguement.

Firstly, Dr. Karp has compared his study, which were conducted recently, with Dr. Field's study, which was conducted 20 years ago. It is important to understand that the demographics, economy or other social factors of any place changes with time. It is possible that the study conducted by Dr. Field was in completely different setting 20 years ago. For example, it is poosible that 20 years ago, the economy in Tertia was not very good and the parents would travel to neighbouring islands for long periods of time to earn livelihood for their families. If such was the case, it is possible that a family with a young child, would depend on their village folks for looking after their child when they would be away for work.

It is also possible that 20 years ago, the number of children in Teretia was much less than the number of adult or senior citizens. In such condition, it is possible that the entire village would help in the rearing the young ones for they were the future of Tertia. If any of the above mentioned scenarios is to be true, the comparision of the studies would prove to be invalid.

Secondly, Dr. Karp should also consider the factor of how similar is Tertia to its neighbouring islands. It is possible that the neighboring islands are very different than Tertia. That is, it is possible that the peripheral islands major source of income is through farming. Thus, a family of farmers won't have to stay away from their respective homes and can look after their kids themselves. It is also possible that the rest of the islands are parochial and don't let the women assume any other role than being a mother and a housekeeper. If this is to be true, one parent is always present to look after their child and thus is not dependent on any other member of the village. Also, it is not necessary that if a child talks more about his bological parents than any other adult, that he is raised only by his parents.

Thus many factors are to be considered before validating Dr. Karp's claim.