Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The given issue task takes either of the two extreme stand, which are, to abandon one's own principles for the sake of public or to adamantly stick to them. But an effecient and able leader should be able to strike a balance between these two mentioned positions.

The given issue task takes either of the two extreme stand, which are, to abandon one's own principles for the sake of public or to adamantly stick to them. But an efficient and able leader should be able to strike a balance between these two mentioned positions.

To begin with, any good leader must possess qualities such as incisiveness, perceptive understanding, foresight, and moral & ethical principles that guides him to lead a group or congregation to their desired goal. These qualities and principles make a huge contribution while making important decisions. So, if a political leader abides strongly by morals such as honestly, generosity, evenhandedness, he is more likely to care for the welfare of his people. And thus, contribute more to the society. Public opinion for a particular task must be weighed, assessed, and deliberated to come to conclusion of it's usefulness. If a public opinion is likely to create fractions in the society, then such opinions should not be followed just to gain popularity or for the sake of compromise. It can do more harm than good.

In the other view of being committed to one's own principles irrespective of the masses thoughts, is also not viable. A good leader is one who keeps his people satisfied and urges them to do better. A leader who consistently adheres to his own objectives might fail to see the big picture. A efficient leader tries to understand the demands and needs of his people and strives to achieve them for their well being.

Therefore, I believe that an efficient leader is one who knows when to abandon his principles and when to abide by them and thus works diligently for the progress of the public on the whole.