Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the arguement has asserted that the routine administrations of inoculations against cow flu has a small possibility of death,therefore, it cannot be permitted. It is evident that the arguement is quite vague and evasive and lacks in presenting necessary information required to validate it completely.

Firstly, the major red light that serves as a warning is the phrase Many lives "might" be saved. If we consider that cow flu is indeed fatal and many people contact this flu easily, then the best solution is to administer the patient with medicine that will sure shot fight against the disease and promote healthy recovery. If the author can provide necessary evidence proving the potency of the regular inoculations, only then it makes sense to administer them routinely. To elaborate, if 10 out of 10,000 people show positive response of routine inoculation, it can be considered as inefficient against fighting cow flu. In such case, the inoculations does not produce efficacious results, one needs to look into alternate options to fight against cow flu.

The next important factor in this arguement is the lack specific data that mentions the fatality that may result from routine inoculations. For example, the routine inoculation for 1 week might be effective in fighting against the flu completely. Whereas, if the inoculation is given for a period of 20 years, it may result in death. It is also possible the only 1 out of 10,000,000 have a possibility of dying upon administering the inoculation regularly. If such is the case, the routine inoculations has neglibile chance of being fatal.

In summary, there are various factors such as potency of the inoculations, fatality rate, malignity of cow flu, which needs to be studied to validate the given arguement.