All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

A fresh set of eyes is often said to bring out new insights that ultimately aids with the betterment of the task. Companies primariry hire outside consultants for this specific purpose. To assert "Inputs from such consultants are insignificant if the company listens to their own employees" is lacking for the following two reasons.

First of all it is necessary to understand that their are different factors that affect the efficient working of any company. These factors can vary depending on the type of company it is. To elaborate, for a product based company it is important to assess the current market, understand customer needs, work on customer feedback, keep a tab on competitor products, research and develop new line of products and many other factors.It is true that a company is run by their respective employees, but it is also true that employees, most of the time, can't keep up with all the necessary changes required to keep the company at its peak all the time. For such reasons, when an expert from the outside world in invited, they provide information, ideas and suggestions what would have never been thought of by any employee.

Secondly, these consultants know that their livelihood depends on proving the companies with such information. They are likely to keep abreast with the latest update or modifications in the market requirement. A good counsultant is capable of providing incisive and distinct understanding that further leads to the success of the respective company. It is also possible an employee might provide biased opinions and tries to hide the drawbacks of his fellow employees.

This does not mean that a company should completely rely on such outside consultants and ignore the suggestions of their own employee. A company should maintain a balance between both the aspects.