The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

“Keep it up! You are doing good”. “It is okay if you did wrong, everyone has some bad qualities”. Surely, the second statement doesn’t help anyone. Any appreciation accrues self-confidence in a person, and too much self-confidence is over-confidence. This definitely needs to be balanced by acknowledging the negative traits of the person. While it is true that it is necessary to praise, otherwise self-doubt might reek in, someone who is only praised but not admonished develops the habit of being appreciated wherever they go. They seek validation for whatever they do. Their character becomes fragile and they can’t handle criticism.

The right way to teach somebody cannot be binary, especially in children. People develop their personality from the experiences of their young age. There are children who have been awarded for anything they do and there are other children who are violently beaten by their parents in which the latter believes they are teaching a lesson to their child. The first kind of children go on to become supercilious while the other kind of children become reticent or mendacious. Did it do any good to them? No. The perfect way to teach someone has to be a mix of both worlds. If a person does something wrong, the first step should be to acknowledge it so that the person learns to distinguish good and bad. Post that, explaining why it was wrong and what could be done instead is a better way to deal. A child mirrors what he experiences in his childhood for the rest of his life and violence in the name of teaching will have deleterious effects in the long run.

Definitely, the person who is teaching has to bear great patience while addressing the negative qualities. For adults, this becomes much more important as people tend to repatriate if they realize they are being “criticized”. Yet, one should never skip such a conversation and explain the negative traits politely with a suggestion on how to improve. Again, praising people around us for any good they do helps in keeping things balanced and people become more welcoming towards constructive feedback. Indeed, the best way to teach is to praise the positive actions and address the negative ones politely.