The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The world has seen many great personalities in the past and many other new success stories come up regularly. Some come from relatively weaker economic backgrounds, have seen struggles since childhood and some others have had sufficient conveniences in life, and they are also successful today.

One may ask, is struggling in early days an essential ingredient for success later in life? Though it cannot be stated as a rule, yet we see most leaders come from harsh childhoods. To be independent in life, one needs to have experienced the harsh realities of life. With experience comes confidence and the ability to not make the same mistakes again, to know what to do in complex situations. People who have been spoonfed since the beginning always need help and instructions. Politics, for example, can be a great way to relate. There have been dynasties in politics and also there are people who have no godfathers, be it any country. Leaders who are brought up around lackeys only know how to command while the actual job is done by somebody else. Though not easily observed, if we keep the supporters of these leaders out of the picture for a while, the so-called “leaders” might not know many things. On the other hand, a person who has built an organization from the ground up knows his field in and out. He might have taken help from others but did everything by himself. He would know how to do it again and this time with even less or no support. Such a person would also be high on confidence, yet not overconfident as he knows how thorny the journey had been. This not only applies to politics but any profession in the world. Without making your own hands dirty, you cannot know anything.

Another instance more common to our lives is searching for facts and answers to our regular questions. Internet has surely made things easier for all of us, but can we survive without it in today’s time? Probably not. In earlier times, people were not dependent on googling, rather believed in trying out things to know how something is done. We may forget what we browse but we usually retain the experiences we have had. It is relatively time taking, but long lasting. Even according to Darwin, parts of the human body less used tend to become weaker with time. Once a person adapts to convenience, he doesn’t want to push himself again, and if someday the convenience is taken away, the person becomes helpless. Just imagine a day without Google!

Luxuries often prevent people from experiencing life as it is. Again, it cannot be stated as a rule that luxuries do not make people independent. In the end, it depends on the person how he wants his character to be. People coming from lavish families also succeed, and sometimes without or little support. However, one would find more examples of the opposite. People aim for things they don’t possess. One who is not successful, one who does not have luxury at his disposal would yearn for it and many a times, work hard for it. Some still may not work hard while some others who are already living a lavish life may have dreams that keep them awake. Still, talking about the general population, we can agree on the statement that luxuries do make people somewhat dependent and underconfident.