The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Life is a rollercoaster ride in the sense that everyone in their lifetime experiences things on both sides of the coin. No person, by birth , is carved out as a perfect individual. Everyone makes mistakes and they need to be corrected. While praising positive actions boosts morale, I mostly believe the best way to teach is not to praise only positive actions by ignoring negative ones for two reasons.

To begin, ignoring negative actions while teaching will never make the other a better person. You only grow by continuous learning and upskilling in the right direction. Identifying mistakes is always an integral part of learning. A best teacher should always identify the negatives/ weaknesses of a person and must constantly work in order to communicate ways to overcome them. For example, take the case of an Olympic badminton player training to win a medal for his country. During his practice, the coach must definitely identify the weakness of the player , say backshot smash, and get it trained daily. If he keeps on praising the positive strengths of the player, will a day arise where the player would be basking on his success? The answer is no as the competitor would study him and will thrive on the player’s weakness to vanquish. This example illustrates that one mustn’t ignore the negative ones as it never gives a chance to grow.

Further, does a parent during the early mental development of a child, not teach a lesson to impart wisdom on the wrongdoings of the child? It is always necessary to teach them on their negatives at the most earliest stage as possible , as not doing so will only lead them to get their mind develop towards making them a wicked person. If not mended their brain in the initial stages, it would be very hard on the parents to correct their behavior at a later stage. For example, a child if brought up by only praising on his positive actions, will have uncorrected negative influences surrounding him and it will turn him to the most evil person and may even make him turn as a terrorist/sociopath and attempts to end the society.

Of course, not at all praising on the positive things is also not good for teaching. We all want a sense of recognition for every achievement as this gives a purpose to accomplish more. If not, we feel dejected and may lose zeal to achieve further. Finally, the best way to get corrected is always to be taught by the closed ones as these people are always with the person during his accomplishments and they would be apt enough to teach a lesson on the negative mistakes that happened. In that way there would be great learning and not just the feeling of being pointed at only on negativity.