When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author proposes to revive the tag of most heavily used public park to Stanley park by installing more benches in the park, which had been the obvious difference seen with Carlton Park to make unused open areas into sociable spaces. However, the author supports his conclusions with assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the writer presumes, without evidence that, the drop in popularity is linked to only the average no of cars parked in the parking lot. However, this may not be the case. It is possible that more people may commute through public transport to Stanley Park and parking lot cars may not be the ideal measure. It is also possible that Carlton Park, attracting a lot of visitors to come by car than Stanley Park and the total visitors coming by walk or biking may be less. If either of these scenarios is true, then the author’s contention that installing more benches to attract people does not hold water.

Second of all, is the drop in popularity of Stanley park only linked to people preferring to go over to other parks? Perhaps the proclivity of people to visit parks to spend leisure time has aged where people with the advent of social media may have more alternate forms of spending time. Even if we consider otherwise, the drop in popularity of Stanley is possible as it was first opened which may have attracted a lot of people then but due to it being old, people are preferring to go over newly constructed parks. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the writer’s claim that installing more benches to attract people to Stanley Park is not persuasive.

Finally, the writer claims that providing benches would attract more people to Stanley Park just like Carlton Park. It is likely that people not visit parks to only sit all the time. May be people prefer to jog and just enjoy the greenery by a small pond in a park. The amenities provided by a park may matter the most for a person to visit the park. Carlton Park’s popularity may be due to this and not linked to the sociable places it has due to more number of benches. If this is true, then the author’s assertion to increase the benches to increase the visitors in Stanley Park is invalid, and needs greater examination.

In conclusion, the town providing more benches will make Stanley Park as popular as Carlton. However, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unfounded assumptions that render its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Thus the author needs to provide additional evidence on 3 fronts: parked cars being the measure of visitors of a park, seating being the primary factor for a person to choose a park, people’s preferences to a park with time.