The best way to teach — whether as an educator, employer, or parent — is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

The issue of whether or not the educators, employers or parents must praise the positive and negative actions is a contentious one. Both sides have their own positives and negatives that can be debatable. But praising positive actions and counselling negative actions should be necessary to teach a person because people always learn from their mistakes. A person will also try not to repeat the same mistake and it is the role of the educator or an employer or a parent to make sure they teach what is right and what is wrong.

Firstly, a person has to get feedback whether it is negative or positive because feedback or counselling helps people to understand what is working and what is not. For example, if we talk about an employee who has recently joined an organisation. His team leader points out the positives and ignores the negative points. This makes the employee think that he has done everything perfectly. But until he understands what is right and what is not he does not know how to perfectly accomplish a task that is desired and does not understand what are his negatives and how to improve his skill to deliver a task. Hence, feedback whether it is positive or negative must be given to improve one’s performance.

Secondly, the role of a parent, educator or employer is to train a student so that he can understand what is good and what is not. If they fail to make a student or an employee realise their negatives, it is not considered as good teaching. Making a student or an employee or a child realise his pros and cons is necessary and it is considered the best way to teach. People say that life always teaches and a person will learn from each and everything that he does. Therefore, it is important to learn from the negative as much as we learn from the positives.

Although there are many benefits to pointing out negatives, on the other side there are some drawbacks to pointing out negatives in a person. Pointing out negatives and conveying them properly is very important because a small confusion or misunderstanding in the process of communicating the negatives can lead to another bigger problem. The whole point of communicating negatives is to make a person understand what is good and what is bad. If he is not communicated properly, he might repeat the same mistake in a different way.

Furthermore, directly pointing out negatives can lessen the enthusiasm in oneself. Every time one points out a negative it is important that the positives are told first, then the negative points can be told in a way that can balance both positives and negatives. The process of feedback is to point out the good things and bad things. But only pointing out just positives or just negatives will not do the task. Pointing out negatives can discourage the interest to work in a person. He might also start to feel neglected due to constantly pointing out the bad in a person.

In conclusion, the feedback system is important in teaching. Unless a teacher, employer or parent does give complete feedback the learning process is incomplete. It is important to point out one's good and bad and give feedback that is neutral and that can encourage a person to work with interest and enthusiasm. Communicating feedback properly will always help a person to learn from his mistake and he will try to make sure that he does not repeat the same.