The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

The issue of whether or not people should question authorities is a contentious one. Each has its own positives and negatives that are debatable. But as a responsible citizen who has the opportunity to elect the leader has a right to question how to establish a good and systematic society. It is important for people to question the authorities about the unsolved issues. There are cases where the authorities might not know that people are facing the issue. Speaking up will ensure that the authorities might work responsibility instead of being negligent.

Firstly, people have the right to vote to choose their leader based on their manifesto. Authorities such as the Member of Legislative assembly and the Member of parliament have to announce their manifesto. They promise people to solve issues. If they promise and fail to follow the manifest, it is a person's duty to question and ask the authority about the same. People choose a leader because they feel that the elected person may establish a good society. So unless a person has a valid point to raise there is no need to fear to question the authority.

Secondly, if people question the authorities for not giving them proper facilities it makes authorities act on the issues immediately, it makes the government to be responsible for people. Authorities might fear being pointed out for their negligence or for not solving the issues of the people. A responsible person may raise an issue but it is important that the government acts upon it immediately. It is necessary that when you are not offered what you are promised as a proper tax payer and a citizen of the country a has a right to question the government.

People might neglect a problem because they might think it is not one’s duty and someone else can report the issue. And if everyone in a community is thinking the same, people themselves are encouraging the authorities not to worry for their sufferings. For example, roads are spoiled due to the heavy rains, the government may not notice immediately but if a community or a person who lives in the community should feel responsible to raise an issue, this might definitely make the authorities act upon it. If people living in the area ignore the situation then definitely it provokes the government or the authorities to ignore the problem.

Many people may fear that questioning authorities may be dangerous to them and their families because authorities are so powerful and can take revenge on the helpless individual and can cause harm to their family. But people don't remember that questioning authorities is not a crime and according to the constitution people have a right to raise their voice when they are neglected. It is accepted by the government that a non-violent protest or questioning of the government is legal in a democracy.

In conclusion, India is a democractic country and people choose their leader because they feel he might fulfill their need. When these needs are neglected a person has a right to question the authority because sometimes the government has many other issues to concentrate on or the present issue is not brought into the government's notice. People have to bring the issues to the notice and if they are still unsolved they have a right to question the authorities for people’s well-being.