Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

The issue of whether or not the government should focus on solving immediate problems today rather than solving anticipated problems is a contentious one. Each side has its own positives and negatives that can be debatable. But solving the existing issues can ease and eliminate pressure on the government, help the government to maintain a systematic society and enhance better planning to face upcoming issues. There are many examples raised during the COVID situation that can be used to support that the government has neglected to take proper action and was trying to solve anticipated problems.

Firstly, solving immediate problems helps the government to better plan and be ready to tackle any unknown and sudden events that can be raised in the immediate future. No one knows what’s going to happen next. Indian government experienced such an issue while dealing with the COVID. It was slowly dealing with the issue rather than bringing a quick plan of action. Meanwhile, there was a cyclone tauktae that bought a disaster. The government was busy planning on tackling the cyclone and ignored the covid situation. That is the time where they neglected the present situation and experienced a huge rise in the COVID cases.

Secondly, The government should quickly solve an existing problem to establish a systematic society and reduce the chaos. There are many countries that experienced chaos due to this ignorance. The black lives matter movement is one such example. It was the time where The United States was experiencing a raise of minimum of 2 lakhs cases per day. The incident of black lives matter suddenly came into the picture. A lot of chaos was created and the government who had to control it didn't care about the situation until people started protesting. If immediate action would have taken that would have stopped this protest and have control the increase in COVID cases.

When the government solves an immediate problem it can eliminate a lot of stress that can be raised due to the issue. Solving an existing problem can be of less a burden than ignoring it and trying to solve the problem that may exist in the future. West Bengal, in India, wanted to conduct an election during COVID and each contestant had their own popularity and was raising the interest by challenging each other. This tension created a lot of enthusiasm among people and they started to come onto the roads as if there was no corona. But postponing the elections might have helped many people suffering and dying from the corona.

Although, there might be some bigger issues that may arise in the future. But no one knows the chances of them occurring. They might or might not occur. The government simply working on prediction might create havoc in the system.

If a small problem is left unsolved that can be a bigger problem in the future. The Government of India after May 2020 thought that the country may not require another lockdown because the cases were controlled and the GDP of the country has fallen badly. But surprisingly it has to restrict people to follow lockdown again in cities like Maharashtra to avoid an increase in the cases. If the government was not worried about the future GDP and strictly implemented lockdown where there was a small rise in the average cases, India would not have experienced such a situation.

Finally, trying to solve a problem immediately can lessen the burden and can ensure the safe and smooth functioning of the government. Reduce the pressure that can arise for sudden tension in the people and help the government to plan better. Solving a problem that may or may not exist is definitely not more important than solving an immediate problem.