The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo from the vice president, he argues that the company can increase the profits by discontinuing the use of endure manufacturing process. The author supports his argument with the following assumptions, that if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the author presumes, without any evidences, that the customers purchase the socks every two months because of its low durability. However, this may not be the case. It may be possible that the customers wanted to wear new style of socks and thus made those purchase, despite the socks being intact. It is also possible that the socks might have damaged due to bites of rodents and pets. Perhaps, the socks has been lost and thus the customers made the purchase. If these scenarios have merit, then the authors argument does not hold water.

Secondly, the authors claims that it is the appearance and availability in variant colors of their socks that made the customers buy the product, based on survey of the largest market. However, this may not necessarily be true. The survey may not be representative of all the markets. Also, if the survey was representative, valuing the appearance and availability of different colors does not necessarily mean that they do not value the durability at all. It is possible that the survey had multiple choice question which lacks durability in the option and forced the customers to choose as such. If this is true, author's claim is not warranted and his suggestions will not be helpful.

Finally, the author assumes that the Endure manufacturing process is costly and concludes that profits can be increased if the manufacturing process is changed. However, this might not be the case. Perhaps, the Endure manufacturing process is the cheapest among all the manufacturing process. If this is the case, discontinuing the use of endure manufacturing process, and adoptiong another technique may incur more cost, and will decrease the profit.

In conclusion, it is possible that the conclusion made by the vice president will have intended results. However, as it stands now, the argument relied on several unwarranted assumptions that if proved wrong will severly weaken the argument. So, the author should provide additional evidences regarding the veracity of the above mentioned assumptions.