Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Everything in the world is developing and have a past. It may be scientific problem, mankind, technology, tea., everything has it own evolution and it is important to to these changes for referential purposes. Regarding whether knowing past can or can not help people o make important decisions today is a contentious one. I mostly support knowing past can help us to make important decisions in the future and support my argument with three reason. Past will always be a reference for many upcoming generations. The human kind evolution is based on knowing past and trying to renovate things from the past to develop a pleasant society today.

To begin, past is always a laid road that can be used to refer the actual things happened previous and construct a clear picture of what went wrong and what went right from it. For instance, let us talk about Hiroshima and Nagasaki were one of the most developed places in the world. The use of nuclear weapons have destroyed these cities so much that, they re still having the effects of the nuclear blast. Another similar example is the Chernobyl, a peaceful town has has been effected by a small mistake took place in a nearby nuclear factory. The events took place 4 or 5 decades ago and turned Chernobyl into a deserted place. Even after a long time people are restricted to nearby the town and in case if anyone is exposed to the radiator can catch severe cancer. This example has laid few restriction and ban on nuclear power and its use. Therefore, knowing events happened in history and deciding according to them is necessary.

Furthermore, Knowing about the past provides history related to a topic and enables us to understand things better than can be used to decide what kind of decisions to be made if a similar situation is encountered. For example, melting polar ice caps is a burning issue that if not monitored can create a disaster. Scientists have been monitoring the reason for melting ice caps as “greenhouse effect”, and cause of greenhouse effect is “traping the heat and radiations from sun”, and cause of heat traping-“increase pollution”. Therefore, the nations that constitute a larger amount of population decided to follow strict policies and green technologies to reduce their amount of pollution. Therefore, it can be noted that using knowledge from the past will constitute in making big decision and solve problem that can severely effect mankind.

Finally, past play an important role in present and future situations. There is always a chain of things happening currently that are connected with the previous doings. For example, let us talk about a hypothetical situation, if a village population is growing then it requires more, food, space to live, etc. Hence, people start to cut trees, then slowly people cut more and more trees which causes the problem of deforestation in the village and there is a chance that the nearby villages might be effected by this deforestation and the worst affect of deforestation is showed in rainfall which in turn causes drought and hikes the prices of everything available near to those villages. Here if people shall plant trees in such area and help in the betterment of the village and can reframe the initial situation back. Hence, decisions can always be made from past that can be helpful for future well being.

Although, past is used to understand and gain experience with the technology changes in the technology are encountered every now an then. This can change the way of solving a problem and people might not need much to think now-a-days because machine are doing much of the work. Tracking past in such situation may not be useful and it can also cost us time, money and effort to invest in knowing past.

In conclusion, increasing use of technology does not need to track or know things that happened in the past. But, in most of the cases past can lay a clear road for us to understand and solve things. Past can be reason for tidy’s future and can provide better understanding to how people react when similar situation are encounter in the past. Although technology can reduce the burden to solve a problem, past can be helpful for making important decision to s=use technology and solve an issue.