The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In this era, there are a number of arguments circulated among a variety of people. Those arguments have been supported or gainsaid by different individuals and it is natural for a support of a specific argument to maintain his or her stance against the opposers. Therefore, some people have claimed that the best test of an argument would be its capacity to convince a person rejecting the argument. While this statement is not implausible, there would be more difficult tasks that the argument has to take.

It is certain that convincing an individual with an opposing view would be an achievement for the people who espouse a specific idea. As their counterparts are also stanch on their argument that is incompatible with the former’s version, it must be hard to convince these people based on the evidences and persuasive abilities of the argument buttressed by the former. Therefore, it is conceivable that converting others who originally rejected a specific opinion has been considered the best achievements for the supporters of that argument. This phenomenon can be easily found among religious or political groups boasting their success in converting the opposers.

However, while it is reliable that persuading opposers can be regarded as an accomplishment, there are other missions that would be hard to fulfilled and the successful results of them would be also meaningful to a large extent. First of all, it is also a tough task to convince a large number of people who are uninterested in the issues discussed by two different sorts of supporters. When it comes to the supporters of specific ideologies or political approaches, it would be more important for them to convince as many people as possible rather than attract their opposers because their influences would rely upon the number of people who endorse their ideas. For example, the Islamists in Turkey and Egypt could win the elections successfully because they tried to attract neutral voters rather than persuade the secularists, the main opponent of them. As a result, they could have a legitimate authority of the country and this consequence seems to be the best achievement for them.

In addition, it would also be a daunting task for a supporter of a specific idea to make his argument an accepted one among experts or pundits of the field related to that argument. For instance, when the controversial book named Black Athena was published, it could appeal a number of laymen. However, the main argument of this book that the ancient Greek civilization was a progeny of the African civilizations located in the present day Sudan and Ethiopia was denied by most experts in the fields of archaeology and ancient history. Therefore, even if some arguments can convince neutral or opposing individuals of their reliability, it is harder to persuade the specialists who have studied the topics associated with the arguments.

Therefore, it can be concluded that there are many sorts of challenges to specific arguments. While some people think that persuading opposers is the most important test imposed on those arguments, there are other tasks that are quite tough and significant too. As aforementioned, convincing a large number of people or experts in the relevant fields can be examples of those missions.