Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

The universities have to encourage students to take a variety of courses or subjects apart from their main course. The student might want to pursue Computer science along with a specialization in marketing because it can help them to have an all round development. The main course along with a specialization course can be an add on to what the student can actually learn.

Apart from learning the course he is pursuing, he might have multiple interests. This kind of parallel learning can help the student to cut down an additional year spent to pursue the subject. For example, if the student wants to pursue music along with the law course the university must help the student to be able to pursue it because he can establish his career in both ways. A music degree might not only help the student to pursue it but also allow him to complete a course along with his main subject.

Allowing students to pursue multiple courses may help him to cut down additional years the student wants to spend on the extra course. If a student wants to start a new business and he is currently pursuing a computer science course he can use the entrepreneur course or management courses to understand the basics of a business and can simultaneously plan for his business. But finishing his main course and then studying the business can be a waste of time when he can finish both the courses at the same time.

There can be an argument that says multiple courses can affect the concentration of the student and can leave him in between nowhere. But I strongly think that if a student is not interested in a course he would not select it as an option apart from his main course. The universities must provide a wide variety of options that a student can choose to pursue.

There must be a limit on the maximum course or subject the student may select because selecting more than 2 courses can lead students to get confused and he may then face a problem with concentrating on every subject. Many universities should include a system to choose courses outside the study field. But there should be no compulsion for choosing a subject unless the student himself is interested.

The universities must ask a student to enroll in multiple courses for all round development of the student. But making it compulsory might stress a student who doesn't want to pursue a course that he is not interested in. A university might not offer a course that a student might be interested in and simply forcing a student to take an additional course will be a waste of time because a student is not going to concentrate on this subject.

Apart from the benefits a student can get from multiple courses, there are a few disadvantages of providing a variety of courses because the management has to arrange schedules and timetables for each course. They have to make sure that no two classes interfere. But if a student is really interested in pursuing an additional course he will definitely make time to concentrate and finish the course in the semester duration.

The final point is you can take a horse to the pond, but you cannot make it drink water. Similarly a student should not be forced to persue a course unless he is not interested ut the university must put as much effort as they could to help students pursue multiple courses of their interest.