The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid — a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil — as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the report appeared in the newsletter, the author concludes that eating lchthaid will reduced the cause of frequent cold which in directly decreases the reason for people being absent to schools and colleges. However, the author has supported his argument using three assumptions that if not substantiated will dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all the writer claims that a nutritional supplement obtained by the fish oil is the reason to reduce the cause of frequent cold and lower the absenteeism. However, there is no proof that substanciated that lchthaid is the only responsible factor to reduce cause of frequent cold. First, a person is effected from cold due to different reason such as climate change, virus effect, consumption of cold food items etc. There is no such evidence that only consuming fish oil was the reason to treat all different types of cold. Second, people might have also consumed immune boosters like turmeric, pepper, etc. unknowingly which was not recorded at the time of observation. If either of these cases is true, then the author’s claim is not warranted and his conclusion that that fish oil has the nutritional value to fight the cold is not overly persuasive.

Second of all, the writer presumes that people are generally absent because of a cold attack and it is a widely used reason to take leave permission. However, there are many other reasons that are used for taking leaves. Furthermore, many people can use cold as a reason to bunk offices and schools and in such cases, there is no proper evidence saying that only cold will be a major reason for absenteeism. If either of these scenarios holds true, then the author’s contention that most people apply for leaves because cold does not hold water.

Finally, even if it is true that people of West Meria have been reported to get affected by cold, there is no such evidence that shows all the other people who live in different parts of the country are suffering the same. It is likely that the people who participated in the survey are mostly prone to catch a cold. Although the people of West Meria have been treated there it might not be the case with other people from different continents. Perhaps the people of West Maria has severely affected by the cold and other parts of the continent does not have the same reason. If it is true that the people have different immunity levels and the people on whom the survey conducted are comparatively less strong, then the author’s assertions are invalid, and his recommendations will do a little to convince people to consume lchthaid in order to prevent cold and lower the number of application of sick leaves to school and offices.

In conclusion, it is possible that fish oil provides nutritional values that might help to fight cold and strengthen immunity. However, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unfounded assumptions that render its conclusion unpersuasive at best and species at worst. Thus, the author has to provide additional evidence that can supports the argument that says including fish oil can be helpful for treating and fighting the cold.