A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

The issue of whether or not a nation should require all of its students to follow the same curriculum is still a contentious one. Each side has its own positive and negative points that can be debatable. But following the same curriculum can help teachers to deliver a common syllabus across a nation. Furthermore, students from different areas can have the same level of understanding of the same subject.

Firstly, It is important for students to equally have the same knowledge as the other students of the same age. Following a different curriculum may cause a problem if a student plans to shift to a different school located in a different state. In India, every state has its own state board which decides on what curriculum all the government schools must follow. Apart from that, there are CBSE and ICSE schools following different curriculums. When a student has to shift from one school to another, from one board to another board system they might feel it difficult to catch up with other students.

Secondly, The teacher has a different way of teaching style, it is difficult for a student to understand every teacher. For example, some teachers use interactive and practical learning techniques while others may use simple theoretical ways of teaching. And if a student is taught in a theoretical way until a particular class and suddenly their new teacher uses interactive sessions to teach, the student may face a problem because he is used to a simple way of understanding.

The students who follow the same curriculum can be judged on a single criterion despite their background or place of study. In India, the 12th-grade students are scored differently. Therefore there is a need for some common competitive exams that grades students and gives them national level ranking despite their 12th-grade scores.

Although, following the same curriculum may not suit every student. Therefore, it is a matter of time where the student will be able to get habituated to the whole process. Once they get used to the curriculum it will be easy for a teacher or a student to follow a standard schedule to teach or study.

Despite the benefits a standard curriculum can offer, there can be a problem for teachers to understand the method that they should follow to teach a student. The government can hold a few training sessions to demonstrate what the curriculum is about, and can help the teachers to overcome such issues. The teachers can also have opportunities in multiple locations when they follow the same curriculum.

In conclusion, there are many benefits a student or a nation can get by following the same curriculum as it can help teachers to teach and deliver the same syllabus across a nation. Furthermore, students from different areas can have the same level of understanding on the same subject and it is easy to grade a student based on the same curriculum.