Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In life, people come across various circumstances where they need to make a prudent decision. In order to decide they take the help of different sources such as - Internet, friends and family’s advice, their own intuitions, past experiences, etc. The prompt states that having the knowledge of the past is not helpful in making crucial decisions in today’s time. However, I mostly disagree with the statement for two reasons.

To begin, there are numerous occasions in the past which tell us about the behaviour of people in different scenarios and how it changes for their own protection or desires. For example, news reports suggesting a burglary in a house caused by a family member to cater his personal desires. Likewise, the kingsguard killed his own king by accepting the enemy’s lucrative offer. Such stories tell us that before trusting anyone, even our trustworthy members, people should be aware of the risks and to take necessary precautions. Otherwise, malign consequences shall be faced.

Further, past mistakes help in getting an idea about how one must be wary in making present decisions. These mistakes might be less likely to happen in current times but at least they give a perspective as to how previous carelessness gave them harmful consequences. Take, for example, unpreparedness for heavy flooding causing detrimental consequences to the city. This shows how previous unpreparedness will help the government to take precautionary measures for future disasters. Thus, people must do a careful risk analysis wherein the past mistakes would foster future preparedness.

Finally, previous research and innovations are the basis for future enhancements in technology. They are the roots on which the current developments are taking place. For instance, the creation of wheels in the stone age led to the invention of handcarts which acted as the base to inventing motor vehicles. Currently these vehicles are being researched to create self-driving cars. All these facts provide substantial evidence that historical facts and research are our mentor to current advancements.

Hence, although the past's success cannot guarantee present decisions to be successful, it certainly helps people make smarter decisions. Like, in stock marketing, the historical data can tell us how unpredictable a particular stock price can be to determine and how exceedingly vary in minute differences also. This would help people be prepared and take careful decisions and also know how much risk people must take so that the failure is not extreme. Hence, in conclusion, the past experiences make people be aware that anything is possible, they become the base on which future decisions can be made and also how much people can be trusted in different situations.