The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A person who achieved great things that can be used for the wellness of the people and nation will always have an everlasting fame. Regarding whether or not a person greatness is to be decided by the next generation or the contemporaries of the current generation can be a debatable topic. I mostly support that people of same time must decide the greatness and achievements of the person using two examples mentioned below. Greatness of the person depends on doing the selfless service they offer and do not expect anything in return. The greatness of the person should only be decided by the people who saw and experience the selfless service exhibited by the person.

To begin, greatness of a person should only be decided by the people who experience it. It is likely that the younger generation might hear about a person’s good deeds but they can not have a proof if all the generosity the person possessed was true or not. For example, Mahatma Ghandhi have done many great things for India, and he was considered a father of the nation by his contemporaries and his picture has been used on the rupee notes in India. Today students in the schools are been though about the greatness, the sacrifices and the good things Ghandhiji has done. Therefore, from the example we can understand that people who witnessed the greatness of a person automatically decide to praise and upheld the person and they will definitely pass this to the your generations.

Furthermore, there is a possibility that the communication gaps might create misunderstanding and kill the greatness of a person or either a person who got a fame must be a wrong person to hold this greatness. For instance, We have heard about Vijay Mallya and Nirav Modi, who were great businessmen. Initially, people thought that they were going to take the country next level to due the immense business strategies and their businesses might also increase the economic situation of India. But, later on, people realised that they have come to a conclusion that is completely against what Vijay Mallya and Nirav Modi were doing. Even government did not have any chance to suspect them and instead indirectly supported them to continue bankurpcy. For this example, we can understand that people have come to an conclusion initially but, they have realise the wrong doings of these highly talented business man and changed the initial conclusion. Therefore, we can understand how people from the contemporaries have decided the greatness of a person.

Although, there are many supporting instances that might suggest to decide a person’s greatness and who should decide the greatness of a person. There is an opposing statement that can support the possibility that next generation must decide the greatness of an individual. For instance let us talk about Madam Cury who was a scientist and was working on radioactive material has died due to cancer. Her death discovered that radioactive material is harmful and working around it is hazardous to human health. Although she her greatness was not judged by the contemporaries. The next generation realised her sacrifice and named a radioactive metal as Curium on behalf of her sacrifice. Such examples are many that can slightly contradict that greatness of a person can also be decide by next generations.

In conclusion, greatness of an individual never dies and it is carried to younger generation inspire and fire a spirit in them. Although it is true that great can be judged by the next generation people, it is likely that it should be always decided by the same generation individuals in order to understand the truth and experience of other contemporaries. There may be a communication gap or rumours that can go through next generation and spoil the decision if the greatness is being passed to be judge by the next decade people.