Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Once nature is destroyed, recovery of its state to the original is almost impossible and even just to a certain level requires high cost and long span. In this point of view, putting importance on the preservation of its natural state, the given policy might have been suggested. Although it does make sense, preserving all the remaining intact areas is an over-strict policy without serious considerations of its negative influences on the economy.

Firstly, unable to develop wilderness areas indicates that there are no more additional fields for further development. One might argue that further necessary facilities such as department stores or gyms can be built in the areas where development has been already conducted, in other words, where wilderness is already harmed. However, it might be impossible for huge constructions such as airports or research centers. Those certain facilities require vast areas without other tall buildings around the place – developing wilderness areas is inevitable. Since their expected economic values are tantamount, it will be unsound to forgo to build those facilities to any nations. Therefore, the strict policy to ban further development of wild areas is hardly hold water.

Secondly, it is an inapplicable policy to developing countries as they inevitably need to develop their wilderness areas for economic growth. While developed countries already equipped with the necessary facilities such as international airports, some developing countries do not. The restriction of developing wild areas to those developing countries will prevent them from achieving an economic transition to the next step. As a result, the policy will worsen the inequity among the countries. For the possible malign effects to their economy, the policy will not be able to obtain legitimacy from those countries.

Preservation of nature is one of the most important values to human beings. However, the restriction in developing wilderness is the lack of consideration of what the policy will result in the countries’ further development and how it will worsen the economic inequity among countries. Therefore, the suggested policy will not be able to obtain a full acceptance from nations.