An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia — the scent of lavender flowers — has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the study conducted, the author concludes that the use of lavender can be considered as a remedy to treat insomnia and a three weeks observation has been conducted to prove the fact that insomnia can cure the sleeplessness of the individuals. However, the author has made his argument using some assumptions that if not substantiated will dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all the author claims that a 3 week test have show a significant improvement in the sleeplessness of the patients suffering from insomnia. However, the author has conducted it on a sum of 30 people and proved that this can be widely used for all the other insomnia patients. First, there is no evidence that these 30 people have used the lavender scented perfume after the test and still experience same results concluded from the observation. Second, the author mentioned that the controlled room was used to ensure the observants sleep peacefully. As a matter of fact the controlled room might help people sleep and once they are back to their normal routine they started to face the sleeplessness again. If either of the case is true, the author’s claim about the conclusions from the observation are not warranted and his recommendations for using lavender scent does not hold water.

Second of all, the author presumes that electronic device used for monitoring sleep had gave him the accurate results and information about a person sleeping. It is likely that the device can conclude if a person lying on a bed or does not move a lot or closed his eyes as sleeping. In such case, the electronic device results can not be considered as a genuine ones to conclude the argument. Perhaps, people might just acted as they sleept and pretended to support the observation because they will be paid for participating in such experiments. If any of these scenerios hold true, the author’s contention that people can use lavender essence to treat suffering from insomnia is not overly persuasive.

Finally, even if it is true that people can get sound sleep after using lavender scent, the author’s experiment results still hold flaws. Let us talk about the tiredness author described when people started to use lavender scent. People started to feel more tired in second week and author had not mentioned anything related to tiredness in third week. Hiding the tired result can make people suspect if there is an increase in the tiredness and it is the reason for the author to not to mention anything about it. There is another possibility that the claim saying “the volunteers slept longer” can be concludes as over sleep than what is normally required. If it is true that author has given partial feedback about the survey , then the author’s assertions are not valid, and his suggestion to use lavender scent will do a little convince people suffering insomnia to use the scent to cure their sleeplessness.

In conclusion, it is possible that lavender scent can treat the issue of insomnia and provide a sound sleep. However, as it stands now, the author has made his argument that relies on three unfounded assumption that render its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Thus, the author has to provide additional evidence to convince audience regarding the study conduced in multiple sleeping environments to convince people that lavender can be used to treat the insomnia.