The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A cogent argument has the ability to convince someone with a fundamentally different viewpoint. Having an argument capable of capturing even the conviction of an opposing side is not a trivial task and requires an incisive mind to accomplish. But in my opinion, I mostly disagree that a true test of a sound argument is its ability to convince an opposing side, by viewing arguments that could occur in three different sectors. I will elaborate on this with three reasons.

In some cases and in certain sectors, the best arguments could lead to a full conviction of someone with a different perspective. Take, for instance, the European football league, with fans across different cities, states, and countries, it does not come off as a surprise to have arguments about which football coach is better among fans of a certain team, it is in fact a very common subject. A great argument in this here has the ability to convince the other party that for certain clear reasons a certain person is a better coach. Although these fans can be said to be of opposing sides, they clearly have the same goal, which is to watch their team play better football or have greater performances. Thus, it is much easier to accept counterpoints with an open mindset. This phenomenon does not only occur in the world of sports, it is also present in the art of cooking. To prepare a meal, a chef might be involved in an argument about the amount of time an ingredient should be set to cook, or at what temperature it should be cooked, an opposing side might disagree with a different viewpoint. But a clear argument in this area also has an ability to convince the other party in this scenario, because with an end goal of cooking better meals, both chefs, although on different sides, have the same end goal. However, does the goal of every argument lead to a better result for both sides? Is there always a similar end goal in every argument? Being in the juxtaposition of various sectors this is hardly the case.

However, in most cases, even the best arguments with copious logical reasons might be unable to convince an opposing side. Examine the life of a Christian in our world today, from infancy, each newborn has been brought up to conform to certain beliefs or traditions, in some cases, these traditions make up aspects of a person's personality. For instance, a Christian who has been brought up in Christianity to believe that all evil people would be tortured or burnt in hellfire and has lived their life only in fear of a plausible afterlife. This person might not be open-minded even to the best of arguments or the most solid points that are not in line with their preconceived beliefs, simply because this could be a large part of who they are and a purpose for their existence and why they do good. In an argument with religion as the topic for discussion, basing the soundness of either side of this argument on its ability to convince the opposing side otherwise, might be a mere travesty of the argumentator. Research shows that religion plays a cardinal role in many lives around the world and thus is a subject that even the best arguments might be unable to change or convince otherwise.

Moreover, numerous examples show that the goal of certain arguments is only for the sheer purpose of tearing down the opposing party, and hardly is the counter side even with the best points, able to convince such an opposing side with malicious motives. For instance, looking at the field of politics and creating a scenario of an argument between two disparate parties fighting for who is the more fitting party to win an election. This argument has very little prospects of convincing an opposing party even with the most sensible points, this is because oftentimes the opposing side might have such a parochial mindset and a dogmatic approach that they fail to see even the best of viewpoints.

In conclusion, this is hardly a case of one size fits all, arguments can range from small controversies to humongous topics questioning the purpose of one's existence. Simply justifying the soundness of an argument as to whether it is the best solely on its ability to convince an opposing side would be too myopic. A more holistic approach would be needed to verify the best arguments.