"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that the article written by Dr. Karp about his observation on Tertia child rearing-tradition is incorrect because the children were not talking much about the other adults in the village. However, the author supports his argument with three assumption that, if not substantined, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the author’s claim is not warrented and his institutions about proving Dr. Karp wrong was just based on questioning the children from the Tertia society is overly persuasive. Furthermore, the author does not provide any number of children that has been questioned or the age group of the sample he interviewed. There is another possibility about the kind of question being asked, and the type of questionnaire framed keeping in mind that the kids from the community may feel easy to answer. In case if any of the about mentioned assumption are correct the whole procedure of the interviews might be conducted on the basis of bias and the author assumption are held incorrect.

Second of all, the interview has been conducted on a group of children that consisted some kids from the Tertia community. Therefore, there is a probability that the percentage of children interviewed from Tertia group might be less and the general opinion of the children is considered by the author. It is likely that some children does not open up near complete stranger and feel terrified to talk and answer to the questionnaire and significantly some might talk more about the other villagers and some might speak more about their biological parents. If either case is true, then the author’s contention that raised negative comments on the research and finding of Dr. Karp can be nullified and does not hold water.

Finally, The author talks about the negative findings of observation-centred research and boast his interview-centred method as a genuine procedure that is yielding the true findings and conclusions. Perhaps, if the observation of Dr. Karp is conducted only on the community of the Tertia there is a great possibility that his conclusion may be counted as true and the interview that the author conducted has a mixture of children that included a part of the Tertia group. Apart from that, there are many possibilities that showed observing things have been used to discover many such theories. For example, the whole formation of the earth does not have a piece of live evidence but the observational theories have proved the Big Bang theory. If either of these scenarios is true, then the author claim that the insight provided by Dr. Karp are incorrect may be considered as a persuasive statement.

In conclusion, it is possible that the author have come to a conclusion based on his own assumptions. However, as it stand now, the argument relies on three unfounded assumptions that render its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Thus, the author has to provide additional evidence that support his statement that says rather than observing the behaviour, talking and interviewing children was the most successful way to figure of the behaviour and accurately understand the child-rearing tradition followed by the people of Tertia.