The following is a letter to the editor of the Waymarsh Times.

"Traffic here in Waymarsh is becoming a problem. Although just three years ago a state traffic survey showed that the typical driving commuter took 20 minutes to get to work, the commute now takes closer to 40 minutes, according to the survey just completed. Members of the town council already have suggested more road building to address the problem, but as well as being expensive, the new construction will surely disrupt some of our residential neighbourhoods. It would be better to follow the example of the nearby city of Garville. Last year Garville implemented a policy that rewards people who share rides to work, giving them coupons for free gas. Pollution levels in Garville have dropped since the policy was implemented, and people from Garville tell me that commuting times have fallen considerably. There is no reason why a policy like Garville's shouldn't work equally well in Waymarsh."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

At hand is the problem of Waymarsh, although it is to be known whether this problem is as severe as the author states. To reduce traffic and hence travelling time for driving commuters, the author posits an interesting argument on replicating Garville’s alleged success through car-shares and reward coupons.

The premise for the argument lies in the fact that typical driving commute time has doubled quantitatively compared to a similar survey done three years ago. However, we cannot be certain that the relative commuting time has increased without information on the length of these journeys. Should Waymarsh residents have begun to work outside city limits or further from home, this could be an alternative explanation for the rise in commuting time. To strengthen the argument, distance travelled, and a comparable sample size of residents would benefit the author’s point in that it takes double the time to travel along the same road.

Given that the premise begins flawed, the author continues to assume that there is a “problem” with Waymarsh traffic and suggests replicating Garville’s solution in encouraging car-sharing through gas rewards.

Despite no evidence on the uptake of such rewards and car-sharing tendencies, the author begins to attribute a fall in pollution levels to this new measure, which is logical had the number of cars on the road decreased. Realistically, it would be difficult to determine a cause-effect relationship between number of cars on the road and pollution levels in the short run, given that the measure was implemented only last year in Garville. Similarly, the city of Garville may likely share similar trends in pollution levels due to its proximity with other cities and variable wind direction. Hence pollution levels are not a good indication of better traffic nor of the success of the car-sharing measure.

Linking the success of the car-sharing measure to decreased pollution levels, the author further “corroborates” the success by sharing some anecdotes reflecting lessened commuting times in Garville. It may further weaken the argument if the author has chosen to cherry-pick successful stories of lower commuting time, which could reflect a small minority, or a larger group who have seen shorter commuting times but not due to the car-sharing measure.

Another measure the author rejects is that of more road building. While his concerns about cost and neighborhood disruptiveness are valid, the author may strengthen his argument by referring to real-time and collected data on peak hour locations and traffic, giving us a more substantiated view on whether the traffic problem is caused by lack of city planning or the increase in cars on the roads.

Therefore the argument is dubious as the author’s premises may be flawed and build upon each other illogically.