The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

In this memo, stating experiences of other companies that have their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course, the author argues that Acme Publishing Company should require all of their employees to take the Easy Read Course to improve productivity. Although this claim seems to be convincing at first glance, some flaws and lack of evidence lead me to question the validity of this argument.

First of all, the author assumes that the experiences of other companies could be applied to Acme Publishing company directly. However, in many cases, each company has its characteristics according to the professional field, kind of industry, and working style. Therefore, even if the Speed-Reading Course affected improving productivity for some companies, it will not have a good effect on other companies. To bolster his claim, the author should present more information about the similarity between his company and other companies.

Second, the author argues that the cost of $500 per employee is not expensive, so all of their employees should take the course. However, if the number of employees in Acme Publishing Company is very high, the cost can be a significant amount. In this case, participating in the course for whole employees may be a waste of large budget since some employees could already have similar skills about reading or other employees might not require such kind of skills for working. In addition, although the fee of $500 includes a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter, it may not be beneficial for some employees that they have no interest in the contents.

Third, the author asserts that the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course will make their employees more productive. However, he does not provide enough evidence that joining the course enhances the productivity of their company. For instance, he shows some examples of the effect of joining the course such as one employee could read a 500-page report only in two hours and another employee promoted to vice president of his company in under a year. But I disagree that these cases show the effect of participating in the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course since these only two cases cannot represent the whole benefit of the course.

In addition, fast reading a report is just one of many skills that show someone's productivity for work. Even if the employee can read a report much faster than before, he may not remember the whole contents or understand the exact meaning of the report. Likely, another case of the employee promoted to the vice president might be a specific and unique example since many companies do not have many vice presidents positions in their company. These flaws make this argument weaken inevitably. To strengthen his claim, the author has to provide more successive cases that can show the effect of the Easy Read Speed-Reading Courses.

In conclusion, many flaws and limited evidence make this argument unpersuasive, so the author's advice is not a good decision at this time. To validate his opinion, the author needs to provide more information such as more examples of successful employees, the working environment of his company, and reasonable evidence of improved productivity by joining the Speed-Reading course.